how to not be Parisian

There are times when I feel like I fit in and then there are times when I stick out like a sore thumb. Here are the biggest fashion faux pas I have made and will continue to make in the months to come.

One of my favourite sweaters is a Micky Mouse crew neck that I stole from my grandma. SO that being said I wear this sweater quite often. It DEFINITELY does not fit in with France fashion (no matter how cute it is). So far the only two people who I have seen wearing Micky sweaters have been myself and my American friend, Lynn. In my personal opinion we look adorable BUT it is definitely NOT Parisian.

photo-on-2016-05-11-at-10-36-am.

(This photo was taken in Canada a while ago it’s just happens to be the only picture I have of it and I wanted to show you a what I’m talking about) I suppose I occasionally miss these two. 

Another sweater that I frequently wear is my black Roots hoody with a beaver on the front. It is so comfortable and so warm, two things I really appreciate with this new fall weather. Anyways nobody here knows what Roots is so I am fairly confident that they think I am some crazy person wearing a beaver sweater from Walmart or something (but not actually because I don’t think they know what Walmart is either). Also do Parisians even know what beavers are? I’ll have to ask.

The next fashion faux pas I have made consists of me wearing socks and sandals. A few days ago I was exhausted and I had zero desire to make myself look presentable. So I threw on some leggings, a cute top, a baggy jean jacket, some Roots socks, and my Birkenstocks. I personally thought that this was fine but apparently it wasn’t. I got multiple looks and multiple comments (thanks Molly and Lynn for your honesty). Oh well, I guarantee I will wear my socks and sandals for months to come. I gotta represent Canada in some way or another.

I guarantee there will be more fashion faux pas to come. I can’t wait to keep you all informed.

Leave a Reply

