weekend adventure

This weekend was pretty sweet. It started off a little bit slow but ended really well. As an au pair I normally get the entire weekend off to do whatever I want. Sometimes the family has plans and I am invited to either join them or stay home. I rarely have to work however, this Saturday I was asked if I could help “my” 13 year old boy and his two friends with their English project. They had to design a detailed week at camp which was perfect for me because I have lots of experience in this field. I helped them for a couple of hours in the morning and my afternoon was spent watching lots of Modern Family (like A LOT of Modern Family)… That night my two friends and I met up in Versailles where we sat on a park bench for a while just talking and having fun. After we were done it was around 1am and I needed to catch a bus home. The bus ride home was quite interesting as I was the only person on the bus and my young diver seemed rather “interested” in me. He was asking me questions like, “why isn’t your boyfriend with you *wink wink”, “how old are you”, “what’s your phone number”, and my personal favourite question, “do you like Vodka”. Needless to say I got off a stop early to avoid more questioning.

Sunday I went to Paris with a large group of people who are studying at the same school as I am. We went for a boat tour on the Seine River which was so beautiful. Thankfully the rain held off until we were finished. After we all went for a picnic unfortunately a group of us forgot lunches so we went to search for a bakery. We wandered around aimlessly for a while until we found one that we all agreed upon. After we went back to where the class was and hung out there for a while. Once the official trip was over most of us didn’t want to return to Versailles so we decided to stay in Paris. We walked around, found an extremely cool art museum, lost a group member, went shopping, found said group member, and took lots of pictures. By the end of the day we were all pretty tired and ready to head home. We returned to Versailles by train and we went our separate ways. A group of four of us decided to head over to my friend Lynn’s little apartment. There we ate cheesy pasta and ice-cream, watched more Modern Family, ad talked. We talked about life back home, our au pair families, and how we were adapting. I find it’s really cool how four of us all from different countries and backgrounds all ended up in the same place and in similar positions. I got home just after 10 and went straight to bed.

That was it for this weekend!! I’m having an amazing time in France. I love all of the people I am meeting, paces I am visiting, and food I am eating.

Here are a few pictures from my Sunday adventure.

2 thoughts on “weekend adventure

Leave a Reply

